Beauty

Real Skin Care Tips & Tricks, From A Real Beauty Therapist

Bonjour.

Skin care is a lot like a rubix cube.

There are so many solutions, yet you can’t seem to even find one?

I am well aware of the hundreds of sites and articles written about how you can cure acne, blemishes, oily skin, BLA BLA BLA! They all claim to do this, that and the other but you just can’t really trust them.

If you have a bad relationship with your skin like me, then I understand your pain. It is hard to get control of your skin.

But,

you can take action and start to take proper care of your skin. Good skincare starts with proper precautions. I will warn you, I do not have any magic tips or solutions to make perfect skin over night. But I do know how to take care of it, the way it was meant to.

And sometimes, proper care is all it takes to change your skin, no fancy potions and lotions needed.

#1 Cleanse not once, but twice!

skin

I don’t mean twice a day, but twice at a time. I do cleansing facials on clients every day, and the number one thing that grosses me out every time, is how much make up and dirt I take off, and they didn’t even have make up on in the first place!

Many people don’t realise how deep down into your skin make up goes. Make up can sit down in your skin for days after you thought you have taken it off!

So always, and I mean always, cleanse twice. Once to take off the make up and dirt, and twice to actually clean the skin. If you have a Clarisonic Mia or something similar, even better. Use that to do the second cleanse to really get down into the skin.

Oh! Always cleanse and tone your neck too!

#2 Allow your skin to breath

sss

Something I always tell my clients after a good cleansing facial is to not wear make up for as long as possible. Make up sinks in and clogs pores which take forever to come up to the surface and be released. Even if you don’t wear make up for months, your skin will still be trying to remove all the extra gunk!

#3 Get a facial once a month

skinnnk

Facials of any kind do wonders for your skin. There are so many types it is hard to know which is best for you, but I would recommend just going for a basic cleanse first. Ask the therapist what he/she thinks would be best for you and try aim for one once a month. The difference it will make in your skin will be amazing!

#4 Invest in good products

sskin

There is a reason why some brands are so cheap and some are so expensive. The best ones are generally more expensive than the basic drug store ones, but that doesnt mean you can’t find drug store products that suit you either!

Brands like Elemis and Clarins are made and designed especially for different skin types. They work. No gimmicks, no extra costs, just buy the products and use them.

I use Elemis, which are a 100% natural brand. No chemicals or alcohol which drives my skin crazy! After using my Elemis range for less than 2 weeks I had people telling me how good my skin looked, and that is no word of a lie!

#5 Take care of your skin while it is good

skinnn

Just because your skin has cleared up doesn’t mean you can slack off. Continue to use your regular products and regime at all times.

#6 You are never too young to prevent ageing

eef17d6ad0c33d31039f9570fd672764

I started using Rentinol A creams when I was 19, not only because my skin was bad, but also because they prevent fine lines and wrinkles.

It is a lot harder to turn back the clock on your skin, so why let it age? Just prevent it, and you won’t have an issue.

Invest in rentinoids and eye creams while you are young and have fresh skin, you will thank yourself in the years to come!

#7 Learn your skin type!

02a5b23e1e68aa7daa6227a2c862455d

I get so many women come to me and tell me before their facial that they have oily/dry/normal skin, and then when I start the facial I begin to realise that they have the exact opposite!

Your skin changes like the weather. Always keep tabs on it and learn how to deal with it. I always have 2 different types of cleansing products at home for dry skin and combination as those are what my skin tends to jump between depending on the time of year, weather and my diet.

So many things can change up your skin type, so take the time and research how to find your skin type and invest the money in a few different products.

#8 Try not to touch your face

38493a234d6f16755c34b46bc3d516fc

When I was in college I found I was getting a lot of breakouts down my cheek bone and on my chin that I usually never got before, and then it clicked.

If you lean on your hand while in class or at work, try put your sleeve over your hand or just don’t lean on your hand at all. The oils and dirt on your hands get deep into your pores and just drive your skin mental!

#9 Find the right exfoliator for you

e24c863044e3fee17d9dda8fc5081249

Every person needs to exfoliate. No matter what your skin type is, all skin sheds and needs to be removed so clean fresh new skin can come up. But not all exfoliators are suited to all skin types.

If you have sensitive skin go for a chemical non abrasive one. Elemis do a great one called Papya Enzyme Peel, it is amazing and really leaves the skin glowing!

For dry – normal skin go for a very fine abrasive one. The finer the grains the more it takes off but without drying out the skin further or causing a rash.

For oily skin you can pretty much go for any type. I find exfoliators with larger grains work great as it takes away shine as well as leaving a healthy glow!

#10 Green tea is your new BFF

7375bbb4ad26a2bad81767a997b350a9

Green tea has been the saviour of my skin. I started drinking 2 – 3 cups a day before christmas last year and it has been amazing for my skin.

Green tea detoxes and gets rid of all the toxins before they make it out through your skin. The tea bags can also be used to reduce under eye circles too! Double whammy!

I hope this helps if you are struggling with your skin! Please leave a comment or email me if you have any questions at all, I will be more than willing to help!

Psst, click below for lots of fun!

nnn nnnn nn

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

