Beauty, Reviews

Smashbox Full Exposure – Review!

Hi there.

Smashbox Full Exposure eye shadow palette meet the ladies, 

ladies meet the Smashbox Full Exposure eye shadow palette.

Because you are about to meet your next new BFF!

From make up fanatics, to make up I-only-wear-it-when-required girls, you will want to see this.

No really, you will.

The Smashbox palette comes with a mini mascara (which I will talk about later), the palette and a double ended brush (which I will also talk about later)

Oh, and a pretty decent mirror too, which is always good.

The palette.

The palette has a neutral turned nigh time feel about it. It consists of 7 shimmers and 7 mattes all from dark chocolate brown, to a light ebony right up to dark charcoal black.

The palette seems to me to be divided into warm tones and cool tones, which is great for mixing and matching or if you want to stick to the one colour group, and it is also great for beginners to stay to the one colour group if they are unsure how to match shades just yet.

Straight down the middle of the palette you have two neutrals, the Switzerland of the group if you will. These are just two basic nude colours for a base or blending, etc etc.

The left side are the warms. The Sahara desert and Africa if we are sticking to the country references.

This consists of 3 mattes and 3 shimmers. All beautiful. Well pigmented and blend like butter on warm toast.

Gosh I am sorry in advance about all the weird references, I’m feeling a little poetic today.

The right side are the cools. The Antarctica and north pole if you are following me.

Again as with the warms, all beautiful, well pigments and of course blend like never before.

20140403_103704

20140403_103746           20140403_103753

20140403_103806    20140403_103802

The brush.

Well, this is where Smashbox got it all right. This brush is A-MAY-ZING!

Like no joke.

One end is for the mattes, and the other is for the shimmers. The bristles are very tough yet flexible and easy to work with and super good quality. I already cleaned it twice (and in need of a third I’d say) and they are still perfect. The brush is a good length, not too small and a nice weight.

These may seem like silly things to be pointing out, but to some people, a good brush is all the difference!

20140403_103853 20140403_103930 20140403_103939

The mascara.

This mascara is the only, tiny, minor let down. In fact, it’s not even a let down really because its not bad at all, it is just, you know,

grand.

Just like OK, or fine. I wasn’t expecting a mascara (I don’t know how I missed it on the website?) so it was a nice bonus to say the least.

It isn’t bad but it didn’t blow me away either. You know, those kind of mascaras that are handy for throwing on when you don’t have time to do 4 coats and curl. It’s a good size for your purse too, I keep it in my car for those ‘I wasn’t expecting to see you!’ moments.

20140403_103041 20140403_103047 20140403_103145

And last but not least, the swatches.

The moment you have all been waiting for. Now before you go all, ‘Where are the lighter colours?’ they’re there. I just have pale skin right now OK? Don’t remind me about it. 😦

20140403_114002

20140403_103753

I got my palette from Sephora online for $49.

http://www.sephora.com/full-exposure-palette-P383775?skuId=1575018

Pros:

Lots of variety

Cool and warm tones

Blend well

Good pigmentation

Comes with brush and mirror

I have no cons only that it is a bit big for your purse or bag, but we will get over that much!

Other than that, overall it is a great palette, awesome place to start if you are getting into make up and if you are looking to expand your collection.

10/10 from me!

Thank for reading and I hope I have helped in some way or other! Please leave a comment belox if you have any questions or if you want to become Facebook, Twitter or Insta friends, click below! 🙂

nnn nnnn nn

Standard

Leave a Reply

